In the southeast of the Lubentius church is the chapel of the Holy Trinity.

It is first mentioned on 8 February 1378 in a testament of Canonicus Johannes von Attendorn. In a second testament dated 02 July 1387 he writes that he had built an extension which was located east of the sacristy base.
 

The west side was closed with a wall, the closing wall received a door and 2 small windows. The space thus obtained was consecrated to the Holy Trinity. It was not until 1334 that the Trinity Festival, which is celebrated on the first Sunday after Pentecost, was officially introduced by the Pope John XXII for the whole church, before that, it probably was only celebrated in monasteries.

The ceiling is a stuccoed wooden barrel ceiling.

Under Canonicus priest Caspar Schorn the room of the Trinity Chapel received its baroque character. In 1699 the Canonicus priest Caspar Schorn (1683 -1702) donated the baroque altar which still exists today. The carvings of the altar were made by Christian Diezer and Johan Neudecker (Johann Valentin Neudecker the Elder) from Hadamar. The paintings of the six daily works of God (creation of the earth) and the portrait of God’s promise to Abraham about his son Isaac were created by the Limburg painter Jacob.

 

Baroque altar, donated in 1699 by Canonicus priest Caspar Schorn

According to https://denkxweb.denkmalpflege-hessen.de/52860/ the altar and the works of art in the chapel are described as follows:

The main figure of a Maria Immaculata in the middle of a palm grove is surrounded by the side figures of St. Joachim and St. Anna and the Holy Ghost Dove hovering above. The high extension, decorated with luxuriant acanthus leaves, surrounds an oval picture announcing the birth of a son to Abraham. All the rest of the east wall is taken up by six large oil paintings depicting the creation of the world. On the north wall is a coloured relief from around 1730: Mary and Christ implore forgiveness for sinful humanity. On the south side reredos from the end of the 17th century with later ornamental decoration from around 1730 and 1760, in the central niche a modern figure of the Virgin Mary. In the centre of the ceiling a vault small round painting of the Holy Trinity, late 19th century.

Round picture of the Holy Trinity

Inside the room, under a large stone slab, there is a baroque tomb attributed to the founder of the baroque altar. According to W.H. Struck in DAS STIFT ST. LUBENTIUS IN DIETKIRCHEN, S 31/32 the chapel contains the following graves:

Cantor J. K. Vosbein (1731 – † 1796), secretary of the monastery from 1788 – 1791
Cantor Ph. F. Hermes († 1806), secretary of the monastery from 1792-1801
Canon A. Knecht († 1658)
Canon C. Schorn († 1702)
Canon F. F. J. Carove († 1799)
Canon K. J. Flörchinger († 1807)
Vicar J. G. Petri († 1772)
Vicar J. H. Hoefer († 1799)

According to Struck, it is also written in the church book on the anniversary of J.K. Vosbein’s death that all canons are to be buried in the Holy Trinity Chapel in the future. The grandmother of dean H. Distel (1670 – † 1740), Dorothea Müller, born Gorgendiell († 1703), was also buried in the chapel. Struck also explains that only the gravestones of C. Schorn and J.G. Petri (also written Petry) still exist. Between the two gravestones there is said to be a third one, but its inscription is no longer legible. The only preserved feature on this unreadable gravestone is a coat of arms with a stake ending in an arrow at both the top and bottom. The stake is crossed by a beam, the upper right end of which merges into a loop and the lower left end into a hook.

The gravestone of C. Schorn is made of grey basalt. Struck describes his grave as follows:

Under a chalice in the laurel wreath with the host above it the coat of arms surrounded by palm fronds (a similar coat of arms exists on the organ):
divided by a beam and a thread, from which two arches branch off above the beam, in the six fields thus formed C S at the top, C P in the middle, S L at the bottom (Caspar Schorn, canonicus pastor sancti Lubentii.

 

Under the coat of arms the inscription:
ANNO 1702 DIE XXV MENSIS JUNY ADMODUM REVERENDUS DOM(INUS) CASPARUS SCHORN MONASTERIO EIFFLIACUS QUI CUM PER XXV ANNOS HUIUS ECCLESIAE CANONICUS CAPITULARIS ET PER XVII(!) ANNOS EXTITISSET PASTOR SEDULUS SUASQUE OVES SOLLICITE PAVISSET NECNON AD MAIOREM DEI GLORIAM HOC SACELLUM DECORASSET MAGNO SUI APUD PAROCHIANOS RELICTI DESIDERIO AETATIS SUAE ANNO 49 PIE OBDORMIVIT
IN DOMINO CUIUS ANIMA REQUIESCAT IN PACE AMEN.

In the time of C. Schorn, a pilgrimage to the Chapel of the Holy Trinity is said to have brought the pilgrim a plenary indulgence approved by Rome. The number of communicants increased from 500 in 1683 to about 2000 in 1699. Dean Distel also reports from the period after 1711 that a plenary indulgence is granted on the feasts of St Trinity and St Lubentius in the collegiate church. In 1711, Dean Heinrich Tripp had the document granting indulgences for the two feast days mentioned renewed by Rome. Even after 1721, Dean Distel reports that the number of communicants on the feast of St. Trinitatis was sometimes over 3000 communicants. For 1786 a bill even proves the purchase of 5000 consecrated wafers and the hosting of 6 confessors for the feast of the Holy Trinity.

Im Südosten der Lubentiuskirche befindet sich die Dreifaltigkeitskapelle.

Eine erste Erwähnung findet man am 8. Februar 1378 in einem Testament des Canonicus Johannes von Attendorn. In einem zweiten Testament vom 02. Juli 1387 schreibt er, dass er einen Anbau errichtet hat, der sich östlich des Sakristeiunterbaus befand.

Die Westseite war verschlossen worden, die Verschlusswand erhielt eine Tür und 2 kleine Fenster. Der so gewonnene Raum wurde der Heiligen Dreifaltigkeit geweiht. Erst 1334 wurde das Dreifaltigkeitsfest, das am 1. Sonntag nach Pfingsten gefeiert wird, durch Papst Johannes XXII. offiziell für die ganze Kirche eingeführt, vorher war es wohl ein nur in Klöstern gefeiertes Fest.

Die Raumdecke ist eine stuckierte Holztonnendecke.

Unter Canonicus Pfarrer Caspar Schorn erhielt der Raum der Dreifaltigkeitskapelle seine barocke Ausprägung. 1699 stiftete der Canonicus Pfarrer Caspar Schorn (1653 -1702) den noch heute existierenden Barockaltar. Die Schnitzereien des Altars stammen von Christian Diezer und Johan Neudecker (Johann Valentin Neudecker d. Ä) aus Hadamar. Die Gemälde der sechs Tagewerke Gottes (Erschaffung der Erde) und das Bildnis der Verheissung Gottes an Abraham über dessen Sohn Isaak sind von dem Limburger Maler Jakober stellt worden.

 

Barockaltar, 1699 gestiftet von Canonicus Pfarrer Caspar Schorn

Gemäß https://denkxweb.denkmalpflege-hessen.de/52860/ werden der Altar und die Kunstwerke in der Kapelle folgendermaßen beschrieben:

Die Hauptfigur einer Maria Immaculata inmitten eines Palmenwäldchens wird von den Seitenfiguren der hll. Joachim und Anna sowie der oberhalb schwebenden Heilig-Geist-Taube umgeben. Der hohe, mit üppigem Akanthuslaubwerk geschmückte Auszug umfängt ein ovales Bild, in dem Abraham die Geburt eines Sohnes angekündigt wird. Der gesamte Rest der Ostwand wird von sechs großen Ölgemälden mit der Darstellungen der Erschaffung der Welt eingenommen. An der Nordwand farbig gefasstes Relief von etwa 1730: Maria und Christus erflehen Vergebung für die sündige Menschheit. Auf der Südseite Retabel aus dem Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts mit späterem Ornamentdekor der Zeit um 1730 und 1760, in der Mittelnische eine moderne Marienfigur. Im Zentrum des Deckengewölbes kleines Rundbild der Hl. Dreifaltigkeit, späteres 19. Jahrhundert.

Rundbild der Hl. Dreifaltigkeit

Im Inneren des Raumes befindet sich unter einer großen Steinplatte ein barockes Grab, das dem Stifter des Barockaltars zugeschrieben wird. Laut W.H. Struck in DAS STIFT ST. LUBENTIUS IN DIETKIRCHEN, S 31/32 sind in der Kapelle folgende Gräber vorhanden:

Kantor J. K. (Johann Karl bzw. Carl) Vosbein (1731 – † 1796), Sekretär des Stiftes von 1788 – 1791
Kantor Ph. F. (Johann Philipp Franz) Hermes († 1806), Sekretär des Stiftes von 1792-1801
Kanoniker A. (Antonius) Knecht († 1658)
Kanoniker C. (Caspar) Schorn (1653 – † 1702)
Kanoniker F. F. J. (Franz Friedrich Jacobus (Josephus)) Carove (1729 – † 1799)
Kanoniker K. J. (Carl Heinrich Ignatius) Flörchinger (1725 – † 1807)
Vikar J. G. (Johann Georg) Petri (1723 – † 1772)
Vikar J. A. (Johannes Antonius) Hoefer (1732 – † 1799)

Laut Struck sei auch im Kirchenbuch zum Todestag von J.K. Vosbein geschrieben, dass alle Kanoniker zukünftig in der Dreifaltigkeitskapelle bestattet werden sollen. Die Großmutter des Dekans H. Distel (1670 – † 1740), Dorothea Müller, geb. Gorgendiell († 1703), wurde ebenfalls in der Kapelle bestattet. Struck erläutert ebenso, dass nur noch die Grabsteine von C. Schorn und J.G. Petri (auch Petry geschrieben) existieren. Zwischen beiden Grabsteinen soll sich ein dritter befinden, dessen Inschrift allerdings nicht mehr lesbar ist. Das einige erhaltene Merkmal an diesem unleserlichen Grabstein ist ein ein Wappen mit einem Pfahl, der sowohl oben als auch unten in einen Pfeil endet. Der Pfahl ist von einem Balken gekreuzt, dessen rechtes oberes Ende in einer Schleife übergeht und dessen linkes unteres Ende in einen Haken übergeht.

Der Grabstein des C. Schorn besteht aus grauem Basalt. Struck beschreibt sein Grab wie folgt:

Unter einem Kelch im Lorbeerkranz mit der Hostie darüber das von Palmwedeln umgebene Wappen (an der Orgel existiert ebenfalls ein Wappen von C. Schorn):
„…geteilt von einem Balken und einem Faden, von dem oberhalb des Balkens zwei Bögen abzweigen, in den so gebildeten sechs Feldern oben C S, in der Mitte C P, unten S L (Caspar Schorn, canonicus pastor sancti Lubentii)….

Unter dem Wappen die Inschrift:
ANNO 1702 DIE XXV MENSIS JUNY ADMODUM REVERENDUS DOM(INUS) CASPARUS SCHORN MONASTERIO EIFFLIACUS QUI CUM PER XXV ANNOS HUIUS ECCLESIAE CANONICUS CAPITULARIS ET PER XVII(!) ANNOS EXTITISSET PASTOR SEDULUS SUASQUE OVES SOLLICITE PAVISSET NECNON AD MAIOREM DEI GLORIAM HOC SACELLUM DECORASSET MAGNO SUI APUD PAROCHIANOS RELICTI DESIDERIO AETATIS SUAE ANNO 49 PIE OBDORMIVIT
IN DOMINO CUIUS ANIMA REQUIESCAT IN PACE AMEN.
 
Zur Zeit von C. Schorn soll eine Wallfahrt zur Kapelle der Hl. Dreifaltigkeit dem Wallfahrer einen von Rom genehmigten vollkommenen Ablass erbracht haben. Die Anzahl der Kommunikanten sei von 500 im Jahre 1683 auf etwa 2000 im Jahre 1699 gestiegen. Auch Dekan Distel berichtet aus der Zeit nach 1711, dass an den Festen St. Trinitas und St. Luentius in der Stiftskirche ein vollkommener Ablass gewährt wird. Im Jahre 1711 hatte Dekan Heinrich Tripp die Urkunde zur Gewährung von Ablässen an den beiden genannten Festtagen durch Rom erneuern lassen. Dekan Distel berichtet auch nach 1721, dass die Zahl der Kommunikanten an dem Fest St. Trinitatis teils über 3000 Kommunikanten betragen hat. Für 1786 belegt eine Rechnung sogar die Anschaffung einer Menge von 5000 Hostien und die Bewirtung von 6 Beichtvätern für das Dreifaltigkeitsfest.